Download Classroom Scholarship Application

Download Educator Scholarship Application

Download Post Secondary Scholarship Application

Download Youth Scholarship Application

Current Scholarship Awards

Click on the links to the left to download scholarship applications

Scholarships available include the Vernon P. Ostrom Scholarship, the Harvey K. Nelson Scholarship, and the Dean A. Elmer Scholarship, plus any additional scholarship awards approved by the Board of Directors. Qualifications for scholarship awards are determined by the Board of Directors and may be found on the scholarship applications. The amount of each scholarship and the number of scholarships available are determined annually in accordance with available funds.

Seven $500 post-secondary scholarships have been awarded for 2017.

Two graduating seniors at Minnewaska Area High School, Glenwood, each received Vernon P. Ostrom Scholarship awards. Natasha Nemmers will attend Vermillion Community College, Ely, majoring in natural resources/wildlife management. Jordan Koubsky has registered for classes at South Dakota State University, Brookings, to study Natural Resource Management.

Dean A. Elmer Scholarship awards went to two Alexandria Area High School seniors. Erin Doyle plans to study Atmospheric Science at the University of North Dakota, Grand Forks. Molly Doyle has also enrolled at UND and will major in Biology.

Three students currently attending the University of Minnesota, Crookston, also received awards. Melissa Schilling, Frazee, is the recipient of a General Scholarship award and studies in the field of Natural Resources—Wildlife Management. Page Trana, Ottertail, and Dalton Skonseng, Fergus Falls, each earned Harvey K. Nelson Scholarships for 2017. Page majors in Natural Resource Law Enforcement. Dalton majors in Natural Resources Management.

No scholarship applications were received by the Trust in 2016.

The Harvey K. Nelson scholarship was awarded to Tiffany Muellner in March, 2015. Tiffany graduated from high school in 2013 and now attends the University of Minnesota, Crookston, where she majors in Natural Resources Wildlife Management. She grew up on her family’s dairy farm near Sauk Center, MN.

The Dean A. Elmer scholarship went to Arthur Schilling in March, 2015. Arthur, of the Frazee/Vergas area in northeastern Otter Tail County, graduated high school in 2012. He is a Natural Resource Management major at the University of Minnesota, Crookston, and plans to graduate in 2016.

The Board of Directors of Pioneer Heritage Conservation Trust approved one post secondary scholarship award for 2014. Mark Koep has received the Vernon P. Ostrom Scholarship award. Mark is majoring in Natural Resources-Wildlife Management at the University of Minnesota, Crookston, and plans to graduate with his Bachelor of Science degree in December, 2014. Mark is a Clitheral, Minnesota, native and plans to pursue a graduate degree in 2015.


PHCT Motto

Our time on earth is brief, yet the land goes on forever, carrying with it the marks of each succeeding landowner. As fleeting trespassers on land that belongs to future generations, we must touch the land gently, caring for it as true stewards, so that those who assess our record will see our love and respect for the land and life. (Robert B. Oetting)